Sacraments » Holy Orders

Holy Orders

Holy Orders is the sacrament through which the mission entrusted by Christ to his apostles continues to be exercised in the Church until the end of time: thus it is the sacrament of apostolic ministry. In includes three degrees: episcopate (bishop), presbyterate (priest), and diaconate (deacon). CCC #1536


Are You Called to the Priesthood?
The Archdiocese of Detroit Office of Priestly Vocations offers resources for any young men discerning the priesthood. Our new website has information on applying to seminary, frequently asked questions, and how to get in touch with the vocation director.

Learn more at

Priestly Vocation Resources > 

Reverend James Grau, a graduate of St. Michael the Archangel Catholic School, was ordained to the Priesthood on Saturday, May 18, 2013 at the Cathedral of the Most Blessed Sacrament in Detroit, Michigan.